Diary of an IT Guy #AnakBinus

Build Bridges, not Walls. Collaboration Forever!

Archive for the ‘Software Development’ Category

Phases of the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

leave a comment »

The software development life cycle (SDLC) is the process of developing software, starting from an idea and ending with delivery. This process consists of six phases. Each phase takes input from the results of the previous phase. There is no standard SDLC, so the exact phases can vary, but the most common are:

Phase 1. Requirements & Analysis

Phase 2. Design

Phase 3. Implementation

Phase 4. Testing

Phase 5. Deployment

Phase 6. Maintenance

Historically, development teams usually followed these phases in order in the waterfall method. The goal of waterfall was to complete each phase of SDLC down to the last detail before proceeding to the next, never returning to a prior phase, and writing everything down along the way.

Although the waterfall methods is still widely used today, it’s gradually being superseded by more adaptive, flexible methods that produce better software, faster, with less pain. These methods are collectively known as “Agile development.”

It is important to understand that the SDLC can be applied many different ways. Its phases can be repeated, and the order reversed. Individual phases can be performed at many levels in parallel (for example, requirements can be gathered separately for user interface details, back-end integrations, operating and performance parameters, etc.).

We’ll look at the phases of the SDLC in greater detail, and in their classic order (just remember: this is a description, not a prescription) Baca entri selengkapnya »

Written by isal

2 September 2021 at 11:48

%d blogger menyukai ini: